Caring for your nails

Hi everyone, I hope you’re having a good day so far 🙂

In this posts I wanted to talk about how I care for my nails. Not many people take care of their nails or see it as something of importance, however it is important to care for you hands and nails to keep them moisturized and healthy.


 

One of the first products that I’d like to talk about is the Soap & Glory Hand Food hand cream (I have the scent Original Pink), as this is a very affordable and overall lovely product.

In the colder months I tend to get very dry and slightly chapped hands, which is not only uncomfortable but it’s visible and looks nasty. So whenever I can feel the skin on my hands starting to dry out, I immediately grab my Hand Food hand cream and use a tiny little blob of cream, as a little goes a long way with this product.

20170311_172849.png

I really like this hand cream because it contains shea butter and macadamia nut oil which are both very nourishing, moisturizing and beneficial for your skin. However, this would mean that people who have nut allergies CAN NOT use this hand cream as they will have an allergic reaction.

Another reason why I like this hand cream is because it doesn’t leave your hands feeling greasy and horrible, which is what I have found in the past with hand creams.


 

Moving onto how I care for my nails, to file them I use a nail file that I received in a gift bag at a style show in my town. The nail file seems to have been crafted and created by the brand Sculptresse, which is an underwear brand so I doubt that this nail file will be available to purchase, however there will be similar makes out there.

I like to use this nail file because on one side there is a normal nail file that is sturdy and on the other side there is a mirror! The mirror is sadly now a bit worn because I’ve used this for a couple of years now, however when it was useable it was really helpful and useful to carry around.

 

A trick for filing your nails is not to drag the file back and forth along the nail, but to gently swipe the file along your nail and then repeat this fluid motion. This more fluid and gentle motion will not only just save your nail bed from any trauma, but it was also give your nail a smoother and fray-free finish.


 

Another thing you shouldn’t do to your nails is to cut your cuticles!! Your cuticles are there to protect your nail bed from infections and if the cuticle is removed then your fingers will be unprotected from any fungus or bacteria. Removing your cuticle serves no purpose and is purely a cosmetic procedure, if you really don’t like your cuticles then this next product is for you! (Sorry to anyone allergic to nuts again)

The Body Shop’s almond nail and cuticle pen – I know it sounds weird, but trust me this product is my saviour!! Personally, I don’t like how my cuticles look yet I know that you should never have them removed or cut them yourself, so I use this special pen that pushes them back and protects them at the same time.

20170311_173132

You twist one end of the pen to produce the almond oil and on the other end there is a brush that you use to apply the oil, I prefer to use the oil and massage it into my nails as almond oil contains essential antioxidants and nutrients such as E, A, B1, B2, B6. Then the lid of the brush has a nail shaped nib that you use to gently push back your cuticle without disrupting your nail bed.


 

Thanks for reading! Feel free to follow this blog either on WordPress or by email, leave a like and a comment if you enjoyed this and found it useful 🙂

anna signature

Leave a Reply

