Dupe VS Dupe

Hi everyone 🙂

The other day I popped into Superdrug to have a little look around and I came across a palette that I have been lusting over for a very long time now – The Iconic 3 palette by Makeup Revolution.

I had been telling myself for quite a while that I didn’t need this palette because I probably had the exact shades just in different palettes, but I bought it anyway and when I got home I realised that I had already purchased this dupe from another brand.

So I thought that today I would compare both palettes and see which is the better dupe for the Naked 3 palette by Urban Decay!


Before I begin I would like to say that I don’t own the Naked 3 palette and so therefore cannot include it in this comparison, but I am seeing which dupe palette is better quality making it closer to the original.

 


 

Firstly, I am going to talk about the Colour Me Nude palette by W7 which retails for £9.95 on their website, whereas the Naked 3 palette costs £39.50 so you are definitely saving a lot of money here.

I bought this palette on holiday last year and absolutely fell in love with it because it was exactly what I look for in an eye shadow palette – nude pink shades!!

20170505_145658.jpg

The variation of pink shades and tones in this palette are amazing because you are given wide variety of warm and cold toned pinks and matte and shimmer shades, giving you the opportunity to create any pink eye shadow look you want. It even has some lovely transition shades!

However, the pigment on its own isn’t the best and I would definitely put this up to how in-expensive this was, but with a good priming base or sealant you can definitely get pigment out of the shadows. You just have to work a bit at it.

20170505_145712.jpg

Another slight disappointment with this palette was the amount of fall out there was when applying it, the shadows themselves seemed quite chalky when I swirled my brush in them which was a bit disappointing because that meant there was a lot of excess shadow and waste.

20170505_145722.jpg

The packaging for this is very similar to the Naked 3 palette in the sense that they are both in metal containers, which I quite liked because despite it making it a bit chunkier it makes you feel as if your eye shadows are less likely to be damaged. This palette also comes with a double-sided brush, where you have a sponge applicator on one end and a brush on the other, for packing on the shadow and blending it out.

20170505_145821

 

Despite the couple of minor setbacks, this is still a really lovely and affordable palette and would definitely be a good first palette if you aren’t too fussed about the quality and pay-off.


 

Moving onto the second palette, the Iconic 3 palette by Makeup Revolution which I picked up for £4.00, making this the cheaper dupe out of the 2 was also very lovely to use and play around with.

I do really love Makeup Revolution as a brand and have had more experience with their palettes and products, making me more inclined to buy this palette and less sceptical.

20170505_145629.jpg

I was quite surprised at the lack of pigment in these eye shadows at first because I was expecting a lot more of this palette at first, however I soon realised that occasionally with palettes from Makeup Revolution, you have to break through an initial layer of the product before getting much pigmentation out of it. Which is annoying to have to do, but definitely worth it in my opinion.

The eye shadows are much bigger in this palette in comparison with the W7 palette, proving that in this case you are getting much more product for around £5 less. Showing that for the W7 palette you are partially paying for fancier and more sturdy packaging.

20170505_145649.jpg

Because the Iconic 3 palette is just black and plastic and not anything really special. With this palette you also are given a brush but this time, it is just a sponge applicator on each end. Personally, I don’t mind these kinds of applicators as I find that they can be useful when you want to pack on any shadows or pigments onto your eyes.

20170505_145815.jpg

I do personally find that these eye shadows are more pigmented than the W7 palette, without having to use any kind of primer or sealant, and I find that they have a lot less fall out then the other palette. It does have a little bit of fall out, but just quite a significant amount less than the Colour Me Nude palette.

Making me think that the Makeup Revolution Iconic 3 palette is a much better dupe for the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette, because not only is it cheaper but you get more product that is better quality overall.


I hope you enjoyed this post and found it helpful for when you next look into buying an eye shadow palette or dupe!

Like, comment and follow this blog more posts!! And feel free to leave any suggestions in the comments of what you would like to read next ❤

anna signature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

